Abu Dhabi Figures and Facts


Abu Dhabi Ruling Family

Abu Dhabi is ruled by the Al Nahyan family from the year 1793 and has developed the desert sheikhdom into a modern society, also at the same time holding to its roots and preserving its natural and cultural heritage. The present ruler of Abu Dhabi is His Highness Sheikh Khalifa Bin Zayed Al Nahyan, he is also the current UAE President. The brother of Sheikh Khalifa , his Highness Sheikh Mohammed Bin Zayed Al Nahyan, Crown Prince of Abu Dhabi and Deputy Supreme Commander of the Armed forces skillfully supports him in the running of the affairs of the country.

FACTS & FIGURES
Emirates is emerging as a global cultural hub without compromising its own culture and that of others underpinning Abu Dhabi’s character.

Population
Among the emirates Abu Dhabi is the largest and most populated with over 80% of its landmass of the seven emirates called the United Arab Emirates. The present population of emirate is over 1.6 million and is expected to reach 3 million by 2030.  All throughout UAE, Emirati citizens make only nearly 20% of the total population, the rest 80% are expatriates from Asia, Africa, Australia, Europe and North America.

Local Time
UAE time is four hours in advance of UTC(Co-ordinated Universal Time – formerly known as GMT)and is without daylight saving. So when it is 12.00 midday in Abu Dhabi, it is 3am in New York, 8am in London, 10 am in Johannesburg, 6 pm in Sydney and 1.30pm in New Delhi without allowing for any summer time saving in those countries.

Social & Business Hours
Here government departments, embassies and consulates work from 8am to 4 pm. Usually Embassies and consulates designate certain working hours of the day for processing some type of requests (e.g. passport applications) , so it is better to call before you visit. According to the Islamic calendar holy day is on Friday and most organizations give Friday/Saturday weekend. Shops and visitor attractions remain open on both these days; it would be open by the end of the day or in early evenings on Fridays.

Ramadan Hours
When the holy month of Ramadan comes, shops often change their working schedule by closing during the day and reopening an hour or two after sunset and continuing working until late night. During Ramadan food outlets and restaurants usually remain closed and tend to offer take away services during the daytime and later open for iftar after sunset.

Enquiry Form

We would love to hear from you! Please fill out this form and we will get in touch with you shortly.

Have any Question or Comment?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *